

A note on

- 1. Fine-Grained Grading
- 2. Higher Degree Dissertation Grading

This note is prepared and released by the Mission 2012 Task Force on 'Academic Programs & Pedagogy'. This is part of a series of communications to update the faculty and students on some of the actions initiated as part of Mission 2012.

Fine-Grained Letter Grading in courses

Effective from I Semester 2011-12, in each of the courses where letter grading is presently applicable, a student may be awarded one of the following letter grades (with the corresponding grade points):

Letter Grade	Grade Point attached (on a scale of 10)
Α	10
A -	9
В	8
B -	7
С	6
C -	5
D	4
E	2

Table 1

Reports such as NC, I, GA, RRA, RC, etc. will remain unchanged and will be awarded on the basis of operational processes followed today.

Dissertation in M.E./M.Pharm. programs

A student may do the Dissertation on campus or in an external industrial / research organization (which is identified by the concerned department). If the Dissertation is done in an organization other than BITS, the student should have a co-supervisor from the department.

The Dissertation will carry 16 credit units for the nominal duration of 1 semester, during which the student will not be permitted to do other coursework.

The Department may extend the duration of the Dissertation over two semesters while concurrently allowing the student to do other coursework. In such a case, the total weight of the Dissertation will not exceed 25 credit units.

The Dissertation will be letter-graded with possible grades and grade points as indicated in Table 1.

Letter grading of Dissertation will be applicable for all Dissertations registered for 2nd Semester 2011-12 and onwards.

The above changes have been already approved by the Senate.

The details regarding changes in the Thesis grading for First degree programmes will be released separately.



<u>Task force:</u> Prof(s) Shan Balasubramaniam, K.R. Anupama (Goa), Vasan A (Hyderabad), B.B. Gulyani (Dubai), S.N. Karbelkar (Pilani), B.V. Prasad (Off-campus, Pune)

Thrust Area Champion: Prof G Raghurama